1841-1842John Lloyd Stephens
(U.S.) and Frederick Catherwood (Great Britain) explore the Bolonchen district during
January and February of 1842. After exploring Labna, they continue on to Kiuic, spending the night at a neighboring ran-
cho. The account
of the ruins published in vol. 2 of Incidents of Travel in Yucatan
is relatively brief, but includes four
of the rancho and the site.
1888-1889Teobert Maler (Germany) explores the ruins from Dec. 24 to Jan 3 and takes several photographs
. He also
describes several of the structures, recently published
in a volume edited by Hanns Prem.
1928?F.H. Mariscal (Mexico) visits the ruins for about one-half day as part of his study of the ancient architecture
of the Puuc district. His study includes several photographs of Kiuic.
1932-1948The Carnegie Institution of Washington conducts its Architectural Survey of the Puuc region during this span.
Kiuic is visited by H.E.D. Pollock in 1936 and later in the final season of 1948.The results are published in his monu-
mental The Puuc (1980, Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology).
1986?George F. Andrews (U.S.) visits Kiuic and records several of the structures as part of his architectural survey.
His field notes are unpublished but Kiuic is mentioned several times in his synthetic studies of the region (???, ???).
1990-Tomás Gallareta Negrón (CY-INAH, Merida) initiates large-scale excavations and survey at Labna. The Pal-
ace, sacbe, and several structures of the Mirador Group are excavated. Work continues to present.
2000-The Labna-Kiuic archaeological project is created.